Tuesday, Jul 18th

Most Moments Are Positive

There’s a brief description of this exercise here.

This exercise overlaps a bit with Hardwiring, but I think of it as being less specific. I’ve been using it in a couple of way this morning. First, I’ve been collecting positive moments or impressions: the clear blue of the sky when I went outside, the satisfaction of doing just a little better on my morning jog, the pleasure of hugging each of my children as they wandered out, bleary with sleep.

I’ve also been trying to notice and dismiss my negative thoughts. I felt “must get everything done” tension this morning, which, once I identified it, I could see leaking into negative thoughts about both the past and the future. It was helpful to remind myself that right now I am ok. That tension is its own thing, and needs to be dealt with, but its presence doesn’t mean I need to revisit old issues or imagine future ones.

Happy Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

