Monday, Jul 17th

Express Gratitude

My mother-in-law leaves today, and it feels natural to write her a note of gratitude, letting her know how much I appreciate her. In working on this note, I noticed that it feels vulnerable to write these things; in our culture we often don’t speak from the heart. But I’m reminding myself that this is just the kind of social risk that can pay off big time, in increased happiness for both her and me.

I can’t quite bring myself to watch her read it, though. I’ll give it to her when I drop her off for her flight.

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

