Monday, Jul 10th

Hardwiring

There’s a brief description of this exercise here.

I’m struggling with a somewhat tricky subject for me today. The aspect that I’d like to hardwire today is what Rick Hanson calls “feeling valued,” which is the sense of being cherished and wanted. This is certainly something I could stand to reinforce for myself.

The difficulty I have is that I tend to associate this feeling with doing things for other people. There is nothing inherently wrong with this, obviously, except that if it’s the only time I feel valued, I’m letting my value be contingent on my behavior. That can create a bad situation in which I’m continually trying to do more for people in order to prove my right to be valued.

So today my goal is to connect with a sense of feeling valued for no particular reason. I saw a quote recently: “You are worth so much more than your productivity.” That’s the idea I’m aiming for.

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

