Friday, Jun 16th

Hardwiring

There’s a brief description of this exercise here.

During Wednesday’s mindfulness meditation, I had a sense of the aspect of my mind that constantly checks me over to make sure I’m measuring up to whatever (sometimes ridiculous) standards I have for myself. I’ve since named this bit the Auditor. I like the idea of it as an annoying, far-too-detail-oriented creature, the sort that is viewed by the rest of the world with exasperation and grudging patience.

I also like the idea of subverting its function. If I’m going to be monitoring myself so closely, why not put it to good use? So today my goal is try to use the Auditor’s function to help me hardwire. I want to notice, as much as possible, every tiny nit-picky thing that I do well, and every tiny connection I make with other people. And when I do, I’ll try to hardwire Rick Hanson’s values of “accomplishment and agency” and “feeling valued” respectively.

I’ve no idea if this will work, but the idea of putting the Auditor to this use makes me happy.

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

