Wednesday, May 24th

Hardwiring

There’s a brief description of this exercise here.

One of my favorite concepts from Hardwiring Happiness is what he phrases as “feeling all right right now.” To me this is a similar concept to the idea that most moments are positive, but just slightly different. I think of this as stepping down my DEFCON level. When I’m struggling with the children, or worried about being late, or thinking of all the things I “should” be doing, my DEFCON level slowly rises. But when I pause and really check in with my state, I usually find that I am all right right now. The house is not on fire. The children are not dying. The things  I’m stressing out about are not actually going to severely inconvenience anyone, much less cause the end of the world.

Lower the DEFCON level; we’re all right.

Today I’m going to try to pay attention to my stress level, and when I feel it start to ramp up, I’ll try to check in and see if, really, I’m all right right now. And whenever I can I’ll try to savor that feeling and hardwire it.

Happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

