Wednesday, May 17th

Loving Kindness Meditation

There’s a brief description of this exercise here.

I’ve been playing around with occasionally doing loving-kindness meditation instead of mindfulness meditation during my morning meditation practice. Anything that moves my day in a positive direction seems like a good thing, and the warmth of loving-kindness meditation is definitely positive.

I was therefore tempted to simply substitute a loving-kindness meditation this morning and call the exercise done. But I decided not to. I only occasionally do meditations later in the day, and I like the effect it has sometimes had on me — like I’m re-centering myself. I did this meditation today, in the early afternoon, and sure enough, it shifted the tone of my day back toward happiness.

Happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

