Friday, Mar 3rd

Take A Daily Vacation

Today’s exercise is a marvelous idea that I saw online somewhere and now can’t find again. The idea is to take a daily “vacation” – a short bit of time devoted to doing something relaxing, where you consciously choose to indulge in that “I have no responsibilities because I’m on vacation” mindset. It could be a cup of tea, your favorite music, sitting in your favorite spot in the garden, a warm bath, a walk in the sunshine… anything that is available to you and that feels like relaxation.

Quite honestly, I don’t know that I could do this every day. (I always wonder, when I read ideas like this, whether the writer can possibly have small children.) But I’m trying it out today. Since it’s gray and cold here, my plan is to take ten minutes around lunch and sit down with a cup of hot chocolate and a view of some trees, telling myself that I’m on vacation. Vacation, after all, is mostly in my mind. Afterward I’ll write a few lines in my journal about it – what I did and how it felt – and decide whether it’s a useful happiness exercise.

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

